“book club” …

Posted: March 4, 2011 in arb stuff about me, Uncategorized

I’ve just recently joined a Book Club.  This is (of course) vastly differentiated from my other extra-curricular actibity – The Mum’s Night Out Club (although strangely enough the membership list seems alarmingly similar)! 🙂   Last Thursday night was our inaugural gathering of the wines minds.  To even loosely describe it as a “Literary Think Tank” would be somewhat deceitful… but BOOKS there were, and in fairness we did spend a smidgeon of the evening talking about books (mostly when our host’s husband was in earshot)…

Looking back on our evening, I would say it was a resounding success.  We got to the nitty-gritty of what a book club is all about – and EVERYBODY knows that it’s not about books – we laughed, we smiled, we commiserated, we shared and we got to know eachother.  I very much look forward to next month’s meeting!

Downside – The little person knocking at the inside of my skull with a pick-axe didn’t refrain from doing so till sometime on Friday night!  URGH!

Comments
  1. Oooh, I love book club! Or used to anyway. They are such a nice way to meet with friends, eat good food, drink good wine and the books are of course an added bonus 🙂

    • Sandi says:

      I blogged about it because I was so surprised how much I enjoyed it! Can’t wait for the next one.
      Laura – you must organise one… we do it a little differently : each person hosts a month, provides snacks and then buys books to the value of R250 that same month (that way if we have people join or drop out the financial stuff isn’t so hectic! And of course we all bring our own wine! 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    I so desperately want to be in a book club!!!

    Its one of my goals for this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

