oh bugger… she threw down the gauntlet…

Posted: May 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

or at least, that’s what it feels like.  So it’s 00h37 and I’m about to start a questionnaire (I can’t be arsed to check that spelling right now  – for those with SSD aka Sensitive Spelling Dispositions, my undertaking to “correct it in my retirement!” will just have to do, along with the assurance that it’s 2nd only to watching a Highveld Electrical Storm on my Bucket List!  No BS!)

So yup, I’d “link Tanya” if I knew which poxy icon to use on this dashboard-thingy (I think that’s the blogger terminology for inserting somebody into your blogpost or it might as well be “track-back or ping-back”… none of which I know the meaning of incidentally).  So I’ll just do it the old-fashioned way and say you can find Tanya at intermittentblogger.wordpress.com.  I’d also link my previous post on my Bucket List*.  But yar, it seems aforementioned Bucket List is growing rapidly, compliments of today’s post and I haven’t really even started it properly… Sh*t, perhaps it would be prudent to just end this post right here before I fill up my Golden Years of 60 thru 65 with correcting spelling and learning “linkage” on WordPress.  But I digress…

Here is yonder questionnaire (I checked, it’s spelt correctly… there are certain OCD’s one can just not put off till retirement!)

Which living dead person do you most admire, and why?

I’m going with STEVE BIKO who’s philosophy will live on forever! (Sneaky, I know… but do you REALLY wanna read Nelson Mandela, Desmond Tutu, etc. AGAIN?)

When were you happiest?

On the day my Top Man gave me my Ollie-dog and a sparkly diamond!

What was your most embarrassing moment?

The day I sent off email signed “Kind RETARDS!” Nooooit!  If I told you I’ve only done that once, yup – I’d be lying!

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought? 

For now, my car… in the future it might be my smooth flat tummy and perky boobs! 🙂

What is your most treasured possession?

My engagement ring.

Where would you like to live?

Paris.  I like Wine, Baguettes and *swoon* The Accent!

What’s your favorite smell?

Puppy Breath!

Who would play you in the film of your life?

In my wildest dreams – Rachel Weiscz. More reasonably, Rosie O’Donnell.

What is your favorite book?

Tandia and Tommo & Hawk (Bryce Courtenay), The Kite Runner (Khaleid Khosseni) .

What is your most unappealing habit? 

I chew gum with my mouth open when I am concentrating hard.  PS : I usually only chew gum WHEN I concentrate! 🙂

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?

I’d love to be able to pull off a “Princess Leia in the Gold Bikini”

Althought truthfully, I’d probably be most successfull going as Chewbacca!  I wouldn’t need to spend too much on the “outfit!”

What is your earliest memory? 

First day Pre-Primary.  A little girl who happened to be wearing the pink version of my blue dress walked purposefully over to me and that interaction was the first of a 31 year friendship sister’ship.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

K E N T U C K Y   F R I E D   C H I C K E N (or whatever creature they try to pass off as chicken)!

What do you owe your parents?

Agh no man.  It’s too late in the day for me to answer this.  I’ll do a separate blog post on this one day (long before my retirement, I promise!  See I told you I should have ended this post earlier – the list is taking on a life of it’s own!)

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?

I’m stealing this from Tanya because this is my current headspace too : To my daughter son for being impatient and quick to find fault with the very things that make her him the special little person that she is.

This struck a chord with me!  It’s a very profound and positive realisation… one which can be built on!

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

The Top Man!  No doubt… and my greatest romances… my two little men!

What does love feel like?

THIS.. this here is what love feels like IS.  I know this next quote to be true more than I know I need air to survive (from Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – the book, not the movie you heathens! 🙂 )

 When you fall in love, it is a temporary madness. It erupts like an earthquake and then subsides. And when it subsides you have to make a decision. You have to work out whether your roots have become so entwined together that it is inconceivable that you should ever part. Because this is what love is. Love is not breathlessness, it is not excitement, it is not the promulgation of promises of eternal passion. That is just being in love which any of us can convince ourselves we are. Love itself is what is left over when being in love has burned away, and this is both an art and a fortunate accident. Your mother and I had it, we had roots that grew towards each other underground, and when all the pretty blossom had fallen from our branches we found that we were one tree and not two.

What was the best kiss of your life?

The Kiss of the Saaz Hopps – that’s all you’re getting from me!

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

How many times do I have to tell you to put that bloody hosepipe down?

Take your finger out of our nose!  Thank-you… now take your other finger out of your nose!

Private Parts are for Private Places not Public Spaces.  NEWSFLASH (circle finger around face) “I’m the PUBLIC!”

To my children, “I Love You!” I can never tell them that enough!

What is the worst job you’ve done?

I was the Clown Children’s Entertainer at The SPUR!

If you could edit your past, what would you change?

I’d have finished any one of my degrees I started.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

Unless you mean the innumerable and countless times my parents threatened to “take me out or buy me concrete boots” for any number of teen transgressions… nothing springs to mind!

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

My kids have reached age 6 and 3 without a single broken bone.  If you know my kids, you’ll know that achievement is MASSIVE.  Worthy of a Nobel Prize indeed!

When did you last cry, and why?

Today – I have been privileged to witness acts of such gentle and honest kindness, generosity of the human spirit and the true essence of humanity!  It has been a day for refreshing my soul and erasing growing feelings of despair and cynisism (impressive non-googled spelling that)!

How do you relax?

Reality TV.  I’m a junkie!

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?

Presciption Medication 🙂 or even the green five-leafed kind would do… I have a great life so it would have to be something that would result in some sort of altered false sense of reality!

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Not only am I enough, I’m MORE THAN enough!

xx

Now somebody please read this and tell me how I go about tagging 5 friends, because I’m seriously worried if I don’t do that within 5 days of answering this questionnaire (again with my spectacular spelling), I’m going to be in some pretty deep kak (I believe possibilities might include growing an arm out of my neck, losing my lipstick, being attacked by a now defunct commando of US Navy Seals, being consigned to a lifetime of making school lunches, etc.) HELP!

Comments
  1. I LOVE that quote about love – how profound and how very true!

  2. Love your sense of humour Sandi!

  3. Fiona says:

    I had to giggle at this answer “K E N T U C K Y F R I E D C H I C K E N (or whatever creature they try to pass off as chicken)!”

    Nice post Sandi and I also love that quote on Love…it sums it up so well!

  4. Sandi says:

    Thanks “Frumpy”. Nice to make your acquaintance. 🙂

    Fee… I’ve never been convinced it’s sheeken, but eat it I must. I’m addicted – convinced one of the 11 herbs and spices is Cocaine! 🙂

  5. JaneF says:

    Awesome post Sandi, I laughed, smiles, giggled and thought deeply.

    Frumpy is LB from BN BTW. 😉 (In case you didn’t know)

    You are on of a kind and are certainly more than more than enough. You are fabulous!!!

    • Marlise says:

      Yeah, don’t you just hate it when you don’t tag someone and you die the next day?

      Great post. KFC is my best guilty pleasure, too!

  6. Sandi says:

    Oh Bugger – she isn’t?
    I’m going to have words with her about this… 🙂
    and… thanks!

  7. Sandi says:

    Oh Marlise! *snort laugh* moment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

